In addition, we collect and keep as little data from you as we reasonably can. Collecting the bare minimum of data for our needs means there's little incentive for a malicious actor to attempt access to our databases, as well as minimal consequences were such a breach to occur.
Below, you can find more details on the data we do collect, as well as third-party services we use.
At any time, you can delete your data (including saved screens stored locally, on iCloud and Dropbox), passwords) and settings from Screens for iOS and macOS:
Screens for iOS or macOS may access our Screens Connect server (https://screensconnect.com) if you have signed in with your Screens ID. Screens needs to do this in order to fetch information required to connect to your computers remotely. This connection to our server is secure.
Screens for macOS, if purchased directly through our secure website, may contact Paddle (see below), our 3rd party payment processor and our server at https://store.edovia.com in order to validate your license.
The information associated to your Screens ID (computer information, IP address, port, etc.) is encrypted and circulates over a secure connection.
Your connection never goes through our server. The Screens Connect server only stores data required for Screens to find your computer when you're connecting remotely. Your computer username and password are never stored on our server.
You can unregister computers and delete your Screens ID account here.
No information from this app is stored outside of the app itself when it is not in use. When you quit Screens Express, all data is removed from our server automatically.
TouchPad, NumPad and Currencies
No information from these apps is stored outside of the apps themselves. Deleting them from your iOS device will remove all local data associated with them.
At any time, you can delete your data, including saved data stored locally and on your iCloud account, and settings:
In order to provide our users with the newest features and fixes, our Mac software periodically checks with our servers to determine if a newer version is available. If so, you will be given the choice to update. To perform this check, the software sends its name and current version, as well as your current OS version. No personally identifiable data is sent.
You have the ability to opt-out of this version checking, via the application's Preferences window. If you turn the “Automatically check for updates” option, the software will no longer communicate with our servers at all. We strongly recommend leaving this version check on, and always running the latest version of our software, but the choice is yours.
Worth mentioning, the software will never overwrite itself with a version requiring additional payment. New versions requiring a paid upgrade must be downloaded manually.
Some of our applications have a crash-reporting feature that sends us a report if application crashes. We use the information in the crash reports to diagnose and correct the problems that caused the crash. This feature starts automatically after application crashes. This feature sends us a variety of non-identifiable data, including the stack trace (a detailed description of which parts of application code were active at the time of the crash), type of computer you are using and your operating system version and log files.
If you contact us with a diagnostics report regarding Screens, we may access your Screens ID and its related data, as needed, to assist with the issue.
Diagnostics reports may include computers you’ve connected to, nearby computers that were detected while you were using the app and specific app settings.
Our software displays a one-time prompt to sign up for our email newsletter. If you enter your email and opt to join, you'll be added to a one-way mailing list for the relevant platform (Mac or iOS). You can also join our lists through our site, or when making a purchase.
Our lists receive major news on our products, sneak peeks at forthcoming releases, and special discounts and deals. We generally send about three emails per year.
Every email we send offers a clear and functional unsubscribe link at the bottom, so you can instantly remove yourself from our list.
Our email list is kept private. We do not sell, rent, or share access to it with anyone, at any time. By necessity, our lists are provided to our mailing list service provider, but the addresses on the lists are never used by anyone else.
We work with a number of trusted third parties who provide us with specific services. We vet these companies before working with them, to ensure that they take your privacy as seriously as we do:
We do not engage in or support cross-service tracking.
Version 1.2, updated on December 5, 2022.